Is it spring yet?

No, not quite, but the Cubs today made a couple announcements concerning spring training.

Right-handed reliever Chad Fox agreed to a minor-league contract with a non-roster invite to spring training today. Many of you may have read Mike’s column in the June 2008 issue of Vine Line talking about Chad’s journey back from surgery and a two-and-a-half year layoff. His story is an important one for many younger players — like Angel Guzman, not to mention several minor-leaguers — who go through the trauma of blowing out their arm and trying to put it all back together.

The club also announced its 2009 spring training schedule today. The team has two report dates this year, for those playing in the World Baseball Classic and those not, and the schedule is a few games longer than usual. Click on the jump to read the full announcement.



 

CHICAGOThe Chicago Cubs today announced their 37-game Spring Training schedule for the 2009 season.  The club will play 19 home games at HoHoKam Park, 16 road games in Arizona and a pair of exhibition games at the new Yankee Stadium to close out the spring schedule.  Spring training report dates will be announced at a later time.

 

The Cubs begin their 2009 Cactus League slate Wednesday, February 25 against the Los Angeles Dodgers at HoHoKam Park as the Dodgers move their spring training home to Glendale.  The Cubs plays their first road game of the spring Friday, February 27 against Texas in Surprise.

 

The Cubs enjoy a stretch during which they play five home games in the first seven days of the spring from February 25-March 3 and conclude their Arizona portion of the schedule Thursday, April 2 against Cleveland, also the HoHoKam Park finale, as Cleveland moves its spring home to Goodyear in 2009.  Additionally, the Cubs and White Sox square off three times next spring as the White Sox move their spring training facility to Glendale from Tucson in 2009.

 

Individual game tickets for the 2009 Chicago Cubs home spring training games at HoHoKam Park will go on sale Tuesday, January 6 at 10 a.m. CST on www.cubs.com or by calling 1-800-905-3315.  The ticket box office at HoHoKam Park will open for the sale of individual game tickets beginning on January 13, 2009 at 9 a.m. MST.

 

Season tickets and group sales for 2009 at HoHoKam Park go on sale Monday, January 7 at the HoHoKam box office or by calling 480-964-4467.  

 

Fans may direct ticket and additional spring training questions to info2009@mesahohokams.com.  For continuously updated information, please visit www.cubs.com or call the HoHoKam Park information line at 480-644-4451.

 

The Cubs’ 37-game Spring Training schedule for 2009 is below.  All games begin at 1:05 p.m. Arizona time unless otherwise noted.

 

DATE                                                    OPPONENT                             SITE

Wednesday, February 25                     Los Angeles Dodgers               Mesa

Thursday, February 26                         Milwaukee Brewers                  Mesa

Friday, February 27                              Texas Rangers                        Surprise

Saturday, February 28                         Chicago White Sox                  Mesa

Sunday, March 1                                   San Diego Padres                    Peoria

Monday, March 2                                  Arizona Diamondbacks            Mesa

Tuesday, March 3                                 Oakland Athletics                    Mesa

Wednesday, March 4                            Cleveland Indians                    Goodyear

Thursday, March 5                                OFF DAY

Friday, March 6                                     Los Angeles Dodgers               Mesa

Saturday, March 7                                Milwaukee Brewers                  Maryvale

Sunday, March 8                                   Texas Rangers                        Mesa

Monday, March 9                                  Kansas City Royals                  Mesa

Tuesday, March 10                               Seattle Mariners                      Peoria

Wednesday, March 11                          OFF DAY

Thursday, March 12                              World Baseball Classic             Mesa

Friday, March 13                                   Seattle Mariners (ss)               Mesa

                                                              Los Angeles Angels (ss)          Tempe

Saturday, March 14                              Los Angeles Angels                 Mesa

Sunday, March 15                                 Arizona Diamondbacks            Tucson

Monday, March 16                                Milwaukee Brewers                  Maryvale

Tuesday, March 17                               Los Angeles Dodgers               Glendale

Wednesday, March 18                          San Francisco Giants               Mesa

Thursday, March 19                              Seattle Mariners                      Peoria

Friday, March 20                                   San Diego Padres                    Mesa

Saturday, March 21                              Chicago White Sox                  Glendale

Sunday, March 22                                 Seattle Mariners                      Mesa

Monday, March 23                                Oakland Athletics                    Phoenix

Tuesday, March 24                               Colorado Rockies                     Mesa

Wednesday, March 25                          OFF DAY

Thursday, March 26                              San Francisco Giants               Scottsdale

Friday, March 27                                   Chicago White Sox                  Mesa

Saturday, March 28                              Colorado Rockies                     Tucson

Sunday, March 29                                 Cleveland Indians                    Mesa

Monday, March 30                                Kansas City Royals                  Surprise

Tuesday, March 31                               Los Angeles Angels                 Mesa

Wednesday, April 1                               Oakland Athletics                    Phoenix

Thursday, April 2                                   Cleveland Indians                    Mesa (12:05 p.m.)

Friday, April 3                                        New York Yankees                   New York (7:05 PM ET)

Saturday, April 4                                   New York Yankees                   New York (1:05 PM ET)

 

3 Comments

I cannot wait until Spring Training, it seems so far away! The Cubs are great. Did they re-sign Ryan Dempster?
-Elizabeth
http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

I cannot wait until Spring Training, it seems so far away! The Cubs are great. Did they re-sign Ryan Dempster?
-Elizabeth
http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

Elizabeth, the Cubs did indeed re-sign Ryan! You can read our original report of the announcement here:

http://vineline.mlblogs.com/archives/2008/11/welcome_back_demp.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,575 other followers