Cubs announce 25-man roster


Hisanori Takahashi won a spot on the Opening Day roster. (Photo by Stephen Green)

The Cubs made their final selections for the 25-man roster to open up the season Monday morning. Lefty pitcher Hisanori Takahashi officially won the final reliever spot while Alberto Gonzalez replaces Darwin Barney, who went on the DL after suffering a lacerated knee.

Outfielder Brett Jackson was optioned to Triple-A Iowa and right-handed pitcher Robert Whitenack was designated for assignment. The Cubs kick off the season Monday in Pittsburgh, with first pitched scheduled for 12:35 CST. Here are the options Dale Sveum will have at his disposal:

32-Scott Baker, RHP (60-Day DL)
28-Michael Bowden, RHP
54-Shawn Camp, RHP
46-Scott Feldman, RHP
11-Kyuji Fujikawa, RHP
22-Matt Garza, RHP (15-Day DL)
36-Edwin Jackson, RHP
49-Carlos Marmol, RHP
56-Hector Rondon, RHP
40-James Russell, LHP
29-Jeff Samardzija, RHP
47-Hisanori Takahashi, LHP
33-Carlos Villanueva, RHP
41-Arodys Vizcaino, RHP (60-Day DL)
37-Travis Wood, LHP

53-Welington Castillo
51-Steve Clevenger
30-Dioner Navarro

15-Darwin Barney (15-Day DL)
13-Starlin Castro
6-Alberto Gonzalez
20-Brent Lillibridge
44-Anthony Rizzo
2-Ian Stewart (15-Day DL)
24-Luis Valbuena

9-David DeJesus
21-Scott Hairston
17-Dave Sappelt
19-Nate Schierholtz
12-Alfonso Soriano

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s